Dining Services wants to provide our guests with nutritious food and an excellent dining experience. We take food allergies and dietary restrictions seriously. Please contact Dining Services' Registered Dietitian, Alice Ma, at 509-335-4785 or at firstname.lastname@example.org if you have concerns about accommodating for food allergies or dietary restrictions, or have restrictions other than the ones mentioned below. Consultations are available using the Zoom virtual platform.
If you have questions regarding ingredients in a specific menu item while in the dining centers, please contact the chef or manager on duty. The chef, manager, or dietitian will provide you with the ingredient information for a specific menu item. Basic allergen information can be found on our website's menus or NetNutrition, but customers can also disclose their allergens upon placing their order on the GET Food App so that our staff can check the order and modify it if needed.
If you are having an allergic reaction, seek medical help immediately.
Dining Services labels all of the top nine most common allergens. This messaging is on signage in all the Dining Centers, or on our online menu and NetNutrition. Our Natural station at each dining center is a designated allergen-friendly, gluten-friendly zone where all dishes are made without using the top nine allergens and prepared separately to minimize the risk of cross contact.
Gluten-Friendly and Gluten-Free Options
We are always happy to provide customers with gluten allergies, gluten intolerance, or celiac disease with options. The Natural Station at each dining center offers a variety of gluten-free meal options that are prepared separately from other dishes, minimizing the risk for cross contact with trace amounts of gluten. Each dining center also keeps individually wrapped gluten-free breads, bagels, muffins, and desserts, on hand that can be distributed to customers as needed. Our staff can also prepare burgers, sandwiches, and pizzas using gluten-free products on request.
We continue to strive to increase our number of Halal proteins. Southside currently sources Halal-certified chicken for our Natural station. We label items that do not contain alcohol (from ingredients like vanilla extract, vinegar, and/or miso paste), pork, or a non-Halal protein with a Halal icon to make it easier for our customers to find Halal options.
Vegetarian and Vegan Options
We are proud to offer a variety of plant-based options to meet the needs of flexitarians, vegetarian, vegans, or anyone else who just wants to eat a little less meat! Plant-based cuisine is much more than vegetables from the salad bar. With a little creativity and some help from tofu, beans and legumes, non-dairy milks, seeds, nuts, and products from Gardein and Daiya, we are proud to offer everything from light and fresh tofu scrambles to deep-fried cauliflower wings and vegan chocolate brownies. All of our bakery's cobblers and fruit crisps are vegan-friendly, and we also serve vegan cookies, cakes, and bars. In 2018, we were recognized with an “A” rating on peta2’s vegan report card for “going above and beyond to provide all students with exceptional vegan food.”
Customize Your Dish
With several platforms that offer customers the chance to build their own dish, Dining Centers can provide a variety of options that are vegetarian, vegan, gluten-friendly, or allergen-friendly. Use the GET Food App when ordering from the grill to let us know of any dietary restrictions you have, and/or customize your dish by omitting or replacing ingredients with items like gluten-free bread, gluten-free pizza crust, plant-based protein options, and dairy-free cheese.